Caneros de Los Mochis Announce Roster for 2023 Caribbean Series

By Conor Liguori
World Baseball Network

Mexico has announced the roster for Caneros de Los Mochis, who will represent the country at the 2023 Caribbean Series. 

The 28-man roster consists of 15 pitchers, two catchers, seven infielders, and four outfielders. The team will be managed by Jose Moreno, who currently manages the Chattanooga Lookouts, the Double-A affiliate of the Cincinnati Reds. 

Cañeros de Los Mochis defeated Algodoneros de Guasave in the Liga ARCO Mexicana del Pacifico championship four games to two to advance to the Caribbean Series. Mexico has won the third-most championships by country in series history with nine titles. The team’s last championship win came in 2016, defeating Tigres de Aragua from Venezuela. 

Mexico will play their first game of the tournament on Thursday, February 2 at 3 p.m. against the Dominican Republic.The contest will take place at Estadio La Rinconada in Caracas, Venezuela. 

The Mexico team will feature a few former MLB players. Perhaps the most noticeable name on the roster is 32-year-old Yasmany Tomas. From 2015 to 2018, Tomas was a member of the Arizona Diamondbacks before being demoted to Triple-A in the middle of the 2018 season. In 309 games at the major league level, he hit 48 home runs, including 31 in 2016. Pitcher Cesar Vargas spent seven years in the New York Yankees minor league system before being called up by the San Diego Padres in 2016. In 34 innings with San Diego, Vargas gave up 19 earned runs and struck out 28. 

Below is the full 28 man roster for Team Mexico. 

Pitchers  – Team
Rafael Cordova – Algodoneros de Guasave (LAMP)
Luis Fernando Miranda – Cañeros de Los Mochis (LAMP)
Matt Pobereyko – Algodoneros de Guasave (LAMP)
Jeffrey Kinley – Algodoneros de Guasave (LAMP)
Braulio Torres-Perez – Venados de Mazatlán (LAMP)
Darel Torres – Cañeros de Los Mochis (LAMP)
Fabian Cota – Cañeros de Los Mochis (LAMP)
Miguel Vazquez – Cañeros de Los Mochis (LAMP)
Cesar Vargas – Naranjeros de Hermosillo (LAMP)
Samuel Zazueta – Yaquis de Obregon (LAMP)
Luis Marquez – Naranjeros de Hermosillo (LAMP)
Irving Machuca – Cañeros de Los Mochis (LAMP)
Juan Gamez – Cañeros de Los Mochis (LAMP)
Brandon Koch – Algodoneros de Guasave (LAMP)
Jake Sanchez – Águilas de Mexicali (LAMP)

Catchers – Team
Juan Uriarte – Cañeros de Los Mochis (LAMP)
Jose Felix – Algodoneros de Guasave (LAMP)

Infielders – Team
Joey Terdoslavich – Algodoneros de Guasave (LAMP)
Yasmany Tomas – Cañeros de Los Mochis (LAMP)
Irving Lopez – Naranjeros de Hermosillo (LAMP)
Rodolfo Amador – Cañeros de Los Mochis (LAMP)
Roberto Valenzuela – Sultanes de Monterrey (LAMP)
Orlando Pina – Algodoneros de Guasave (LAMP)
Jasson Atondo – Naranjeros de Hermosillo (LAMP)

Outfielders  – Team
Julian Ornelas – Charros de Jalisco (LAMP)
Jose Cardona – Naranjeros de Hermosillo (LAMP)
Fernando Villegas – Charros de Jalisco (LAMP)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »