LIDOM’s Tigres del Licey Seek Back-to-Back Caribbean Series Titles

Photo: Getty Images

By Conor Liguori
World Baseball Network

After defeating the Estrellas Orientales 3-2 in game seven of the LIDOM championship series this past Saturday, the Tigres del Licey returned to the Caribbean Series after winning the event in 2023.

With the victory, the organization captured its 24th LIDOM title. The Tigres del Licey have won 11 Caribbean Series titles and first raised the trophy in 1971. The team, representing the Dominican Republic, will play its first game of the tournament against Venezuela on Thursday, Feb. 1, at 8:30 p.m. ET at loanDepotPark in Miami, Florida, and streaming on ESPN Deportes.

Only three teams have won back-to-back Caribbean Series championships in the event’s history: the Tigres del Mariano in 1957 and 1958, the Aguilas Cibaenas in 1997 and 1998, and the Criollos de Caguas in 2017 and 2018.

The Tigres del Licey will be managed by Gilbert Gomez, who took over for Jose Offerman on Dec. 16 after losing seven of his last 10 games as manager.

“We appreciate Offerman’s loyalty and loyalty to the organization, his work in the championship obtained last season, as well as his dedication and respect for the game and our club,” general manager Audo Vicente said in a statement on the Tigres del Licey website.

Gomez, 31, played parts of three seasons with the Tigres del Licey starting in 2012-13, but never had more than seven plate appearances in a season. At such a young age for a manager, he has already helped lead his team to a LIDOM title and hopefully more.

The Tigres del Licey have made one appearance on United States soil this winter after Titanes Del Caribe, a three-game exhibition series against the Aguilas Cibaenas this past November at Citi Field in Queens, New York. The team should expect warmer temperatures in Miami, and familiar-faced reinforcements will be in the dugout.

Second baseman Robinson Cano played 24 games for the runner-up Estrellas Orientales during the LIDOM season but will suit up for the Dominican Republic in the Caribbean Series. Cano hit .182 with seven RBI in 100 plate appearances but has a reputation for being one of the best baseball players from the Dominican Republic in recent memory. Cano and his 2023 Caribbean Series teammate, Cesar Valdez, reunite for this year’s event.

Valdez, 38, was the winning pitcher in the 2023 Caribbean Series championship game, allowing no earned runs and just three hits in 6.1 innings against Venezuela. The veteran was named the 2023 Caribbean Series MVP and will be essential alongside former lockdown Texas Rangers closer Neftali Feliz. Michael De La Cruz should handle most of the catching duties for the Dominican Republic, with Rodolfo Duran and Webster Rivas as backups.

Dominican Republic 2024 Caribbean Series Schedule
All Games At loanDepot Park, Miami.
All times Eastern Standard Time.

Thursday, Feb. 1, 2024
8:30 p.m. – Venezuela vs. Dominican Republic

Friday, Feb. 2, 2024
3:30 p.m. – Dominican Republic vs Nicaragua

Saturday, Feb. 3, 2024
8:30 p.m. – Dominican Republic vs. Puerto Rico

Sunday, Feb. 4, 2024
8:30 p.m. – Mexico vs. Dominican Republic

Tuesday, Feb. 6, 2024
3:30 p.m. – Curacao vs. Dominican Republic

Wednesday, Feb. 7, 2024
3:30 p.m. – Dominican Republic vs. Panama

Thursday, Feb. 8, 2024
3 p.m. – Semifinal No. 1
8 p.m. – Semifinal No. 2

Friday, Feb. 9, 2024
3 p.m. – Third-place Game
8 p.m. – Championship Game

Dominican Republic (Tigres del Licey) 2024 Caribbean Series Roster

Jonathan Aro
Fernando Abad
Jairo Asencio
Lisalverto Bonilla
Neftali Feliz
Brooks Hall
Williams Jerez
Jorge Martinez
Jean Carlos Mejia
Andy Otero
Pedro Payano
Cesar Valdez
Raul Valdes
Cameron Gann

Rodolfo Duran
Michael De La Cruz
Webster Rivas

Sergio Alcantara
Robinson Cano
Kelvin Gutierrez
Ramon Hernandez
Dawell Lugo
Gustavo Nunez

Hector Rodriguez
Emilio Bonifacio
Yadiel Hernandez
Junior Lake
Leury Garcia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »