About 2 minutes reading time.

LMB: Pericos de Puebla Capture 2023 Serie del Rey With 5-4 Game 6 Win vs. Union Laguna

 Leif Skodnick - World Baseball Network  |    Sep 16th, 2023 2:30pm EDT

Estadio Revolucion, home of the Algodoneros de Union Laguna on April 9, 2019 in Torreon, Mexico. (Photo by Manuel Guadarrama/Getty Images)

Staff Reports
World Baseball Network

The Pericos de Puebla took Game 6 of the Serie del Rey from the Algodoneros de Union Laguna 5-4, coming from behind with a three-run top of the ninth to capture the Liga Mexicana de Beisbol championship at Estadio Revolucion in Torreon, Coahuila, Mexico.

Union Laguna led the series two games to none before Puebla roared back, reeling off four straight wins to take the 2023 Serie del Rey and earn the Pericos their fifth LMB title, having previously won in 1963, 1979, 1986, and 2016.

Puebla got out to an early 2-0 lead in the top of the second, getting on the board with a sac fly by Juan Kirk that scored Peter O’Brien for the game’s first run, and then Leo German followed with an RBI ground out to short that scored Drew Stankiewicz.

Union Laguna put up four runs in the bottom of the sixth, getting an RBI double from JJ Muno, an RBI single from JC Escarra, and a two-run single from Alejandro Flores to put the Algodoneros up 4-2.

In the top of the ninth, Danny Ortiz tied the game for Puebla with a two-run single, and Cristhian Adames followed with an RBI single that scored Miguel Guzman with the game-winning run.

Puebla starter Yoimer Camacho threw 5.1 innings, allowing three hits and two earned runs, and Elkin Alcala earned a three-out save to wrap up the series.

author avatar
Leif Skodnick - World Baseball Network