Panama’s Federales de Chiriqui Announce Caribbean Series Roster

Photo: Getty Images

By Matthew Tallarini
World Baseball Network

The Panama Probebis 2024 champions Federales de Chiriqui announced their 2024 Caribbean Series official roster on Wednesday. 

The 2024 Caribbean Series will be from Feb. 1-9 at loanDepot Park in Miami. All 2024 Caribbean Series games will be streamed on ESPN+ and ESPN Deportes. 

The 2024 Caribbean Series will be the first time that the event has been held at a Major League Baseball stadium since the tournament started in 1949. 

The Federales de Chiriquí will play Nicaragua in their first game of the 2024 Caribbean Series at 10:30 a.m. EST at loanDepot Park. 

The Federales de Chiriquí swept the Aguilas Metropolitanas in three games during the 2024 ProBeis best-of-five championship series on January 26 winning 8-3 at Estadio Justino Salinas in La Chorrera, Panamá Oeste Province, Panama. 

The Federales de Chiriqui finished in first place in the 2024 season with a record of 8-6. The Aguilas Metropolitanas took second place to earn a berth to the finals with their record at 7-6. The Panama Metro team finished in last place at 5-8 and did not qualify for the league’s best-of-five championship series. 

The Federales de Chiriqui are the only team that played 14 games during the 2024 regular season. 

The Panama ProBeis 2024 season started on January 2 due to political and financial issues with the country and league. 

Panamanian MLB legend Carlos Lee is the president of the ProBeis league. 

Players with notable Major League Baseball experience on the 2024 Caribbean Series roster for Federales de Chiriqui are Johan Camargo, Ruben Tejada, Ivan Herrera, and Christian Betancourt. 

Federales de Chriqui catcher Bethancourt and infielder Allen Cordoba were tied for the 2024 ProBeis season lead in home runs at two.

Jose Mayorga will manage the Federales de Chiriqui during the 2024 Caribbean Series. 

Panama is one of the three invitees to the 2024 Caribbean Series with Nicaragua and Curacao participating at the event in Miami. Venezuela, Puerto Rico, Mexico, and the Dominican Republic are all members of the Confederación de Béisbol Profesional del Caribe. 

The Federales de Chriqui appeared at the 2023 Caribbean Series in Caracas, Venezuela and finished in sixth place with a record of 3-4 and did not qualify for the semifinals. 

The Federales de Chiriqui also participated in the Caribbean Series in 2021 in Mazatlan, Mexico at Estadio Teodoro Mariscal as an invitee. The league did not have a full regular season in 2020-21 due to the COVID-19 Pandemic. The Federales de Chiriquí were invited to the 2021 Caribbean Series after finishing in second place during the 2019-20 winter league season, losing to Astronautas de Chiriqui in the 2020 ProBeis championship series. The Astronautas participated at the 2020 event in San Juan, Puerto Rico, at Hiram Bithorn Stadium. 

Panama appeared in the Caribbean Series from 1949-60 and returned to the event in 2019 when the country hosted the tournament at Estadio Rod Carew in Panama City, Panama, due to the Venezuelan political crisis. Panama will participate in their sixth consecutive Caribbean Series during the 2024 event in Miami at loanDepot Park. 

The last time Panama won the Caribbean Series was during 2019 when they beat 2018-19 Cuban Serie Nacional champion Leñadores de Las Tunas 3-1 in the championship game. 

Panama has two Caribbean Series titles including the 1950 tournament when the Carta Vieja Yankees beat the Puerto Rico Criollos de Caguas 9-3 in the championship game at Estadio Sixto Escobar in San Juan, Puerto Rico. 

Panama 2024 Caribbean Series Schedule
All games will be played at loanDepot Park 
All games will be televised on ESPN Deportes 

Friday Feb. 2, 2024 
10:30 a.m. EST – Panama vs. Nicaragua

Saturday, Feb. 3, 2024
3:30 p.m. EST – Mexico vs. Panama

Sunday, Feb. 4, 2024
10:30 a.m. EST – Panama vs. Nicaragua

Monday, Feb. 5, 2024
8:30 p.m. EST – Puerto Rico vs. Panama

Tuesday, Feb. 6, 2024
8:30 p.m. EST – Panama vs. Venezuela

Wednesday, Feb. 7, 2024
3:30 p.m. EST – Dominican Republic vs. Panama

Thursday, Feb. 8, 2024
3 p.m. – Semifinal No. 1
8 p.m. – Semifinal No. 2

Friday, Feb. 9, 2024
3 p.m. – Third-place Game
8 p.m. – Championship Game

Panama Federales de Chiriquí 2024 Caribbean Series Roster 

Ernesto Silva 
Harold Arauz
Steven Fuentes 
Abdiel Saldana 
Kenny Hernandez 
James Gonzalez 
Severino Gonzalez 
Carlos Rodriguez 
Davis Romero 
Antonio Frias 
Heitor Tokar 
Ronald Ramirez 
Samuel Burgos 
Fernando Perez 

Christian Betancourt 
Ivan Herrera 
Erasmo Caballero 

Joshwan Wright 
Jean Arnaez 
Erick Barria 
Ruben Tejada 
Johan Camargo 
Edgard Munoz 

Allen Cordoba 
Jhonny Santos
Jahdiel Santamaria 
Luis Tello 
Ricardo Cespedes 

2024 Panama – Federales de Chiriquí Coaching Staff 
Jose Mayorga – Manager 
Rodrigo Vigil – Third Base Coach
Ashley Ponce 
Carlos Gonzalez 
Earl Agnoly 
Jose Munoz 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »