Rosters Announced For Dia de Leyendas Event Featuring LIDOM, LBPRC All-Stars

By Matthew Tallarini
World Baseball Network

The Federación Nacional de Peloteros Profesionales de la República Dominicana will host the 2023 Dia de Leyendas, featuring an All-Star Game and Home Run Derby, on December 3 at Estadio Cibao in Santiago, Dominican Republic. 

The event will pit the LIDOM All-Stars against the stars of the Liga de Béisbol Profesional de Puerto Rico Roberto Clemente.

The Home Run Derby will take place at 2 p.m. EST/3 p.m. AST on December 3 and will be streamed live on Digital 15, Telemicro International website, and DR Sports Extra YouTube. 

The Asociación de Peloteros Profesionales de Puerto Rico announced their roster for the LBPRC  All-Star team on the winter league’s social media pages on Thursday. 

Only LIDOM players will participate in the home run derby on Sunday, including Edwin Espinal from the Gigantes del Cibao, Carlos Castro from the Toros del Este, Aderlin Rodriguez from the Leones del Escogido, Junior Caminero from the Leones del Escogido, and Seuly Matias from the Gigantes del Cibao. 

Aguilas Cibaenas outfielder Juan Carlos Perez was named captain of the LIDOM All-Star team by the Federación Nacional de Peloteros Profesionales de la República Dominicana. 

The FENAPEPRO 2023 Dia De Leyendas will inlcude a special tour on December 2 of Estadio Cibao for fans of all ages, with baseball legends and close family members of the organization in attendance. The 2023 Dia De Leyendas will also pay tribute to the 1999-2000 Aguilas Cibaenas championship season, which sawe the organization win the LIDOM championship and appear in the Caribbean Series. 

Former Aguilas Cibaenas and Major League Baseball players including Miguel Tejada, Luis Polonia, Bartolo Colon, Mendy Lopez, Alex Arias, and Julian Tavarez will be in attendance at the 2023 FENAPEPRO All-Star event. 

Last season, the FENAPEPRO All-Star Leyendas 2022 event at Estadio Quisqueya Juan Marichal in Santo Domingo. The 2022 FENAPEPRO event honored recently retired Major Leaguer Albert Pujols and featured an exhibition home run derby with past Dominican Major League Baseball legends in attendance.  

Team Edwin Encarnacion and Team Carlos Gomez had selected All-Stars for the event and only a home run derby took place in 2022 with Carlos Peguero winning the competition. 

In 2021, the FENAPEPRO All-Star event was also held at Estadio Quisqueya Juan Marichal. The event was a home run derby featuring current players and past MLB Legends from Venezuela and the Dominican Republic in attendance. 

This will be the first time that the FENAPEPRO Dia de Leyendas will have an All-Star Game since before the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Below are rosters for both All-Star Teams. 

2023 FENAPEPRO All-Star Roster
* – Injured 
© – Captain 

Pitchers (Team) 
Cesar Valdez (Tigres del Licey) 
Jonathan Aro (Tigres del Licey)
Jairo Asencio (Tigres del Licey) 
Radhames Liz (Tigres del Licey) 
Lisalberto Bonilla (Tigres del Licey) 
Esmil Rogers (Toros del Este) 
Raul Valdes (Toros del Este)
Fernando Abad (Toros del Este)
Enny Romero (Leones del Escogido) 
Ramon Mendez (Estrellas Orientales) 
Jefry Yan (Estrellas Orientales) 
Raffy Vizcaino (Estrellas Orientales) 
Enmanuel Ramirez (Leones del Escogido) 
Reymin Guduan (Gigantes del Cibao) 
Jorge Alcala (Águilas Cibaeñas)
Leurys Gomez (Aguilas Cibaenas) 
Gerson Garabito (Aguilas Cibaenas) 
Jhan Marinez (Aguilas Cibaenas) 

Catchers (Team) 
Webster Rivas (Toros del Este) 
Francisco Pena (Aguilas Cibaeñas) 
Carlos Paulino (Águilas Cibaeñas) 
Michael de la Cruz (Tigres del Licey) 

Infielders (Team) 
Erick Gonzalez (Leones del Escogido) 
Junior Caminero (Leones del Escogido) 
Robinson Cano (Estrellas Orientales) 
Cristhian Adames (Toros del Este) 
Yamaico Navarro (Toros del Este) 
Pablo Reyes (Toros del Este) 
Ronny Simon (Toros del Este) 
Starlin Castro (Aguilas Cibaenas)*
Yairo Munoz (Aguilas Cibaenas) 
Julio Carreras (Gigantes del Cibao) 
Kelvin Gutierrez (Gigantes del Cibao) 

Outfielders (Team) 
Juan Carlos Perez (Aguilas Cibaeñas) ©
Juan Lagares (Águilas Cibaeñas) 
Emilio Bonifacio (Tigres del Licey) 
Junior Lake (Leones del Escogido) 
Hector Rodriguez (Leones del Escogido) 
Diego Hernandez (Gigantes del Cibao) 
Mel Rojas Jr. (Tigres del Licey) 

Designated Hitter-Player (Team) 
Franmil Reyes (Leones del Escogido) 

Coaching Staff
Carlos Gomez – Manager
Jose Reyes – Assistant Manager
Nelson Cruz – Bench Coach
Pedro Martinez – Pitching Coach
Franklin Bravo – Assistant Pitching Coach
Francisco Cordero – Assistant Coach
Felix Jose – Hitting Coach
Oscar Bernal – Third Base Coach
Elvis Pena – First Base Coach
Wilton Chavez – Bullpen Coach. 

2023 LBPRC All-Star Roster

Pitchers (Team) 
Fernando Cabrera (Leones de Ponce) 
Adalberto Flores (Cangrejeros de Santurce)
Pedro Echemendia (Leones de Ponce) 
Ruben Ramirez (RA12) 
Ricardo Gomez (Criollos de Caguas) 
Jorge Benitez (Criollos de Caguas) 
Ricardo Velez (Criollos de Caguas) 
Eddy Yean (Gigantes de Carolina) 
Valentín Linares (Gigantes de Carolina) 
Jackson Goddard (Leones de Ponce) 
Dan Wirchansky (Indios de Mayagüez)

Catchers (Team) 
JC Escarra (Leones de Ponce)
Roy Morales (Cangrejeros de Santurce) 

Infielders (Team)
Vimael Machin (Criollos de Caguas) 
Emmanuel Rivera (Indios de Mayagüez) 
Edrick Felix (Gigantes de Carolina)
Luis Vazquez (Criollos de Caguas)
Yariel Gonzalez (Cangrejeros de Santurce) 

Outfielders (Team) 
Bryan Torres (Gigantes de Carolina) 
Jonathan Rodriguez (Gigantes de Carolina) 
Johneshwy Fargas (Criollos de Caguas) 
Daniel Ortiz (Indios de Mayagüez)
Jack Lopez (Cangrejeros de Santurce)
Anthony Garcia (Indios de Mayaguez)
Nelson Velazquez (Criollos de Caguas)

Coaching Staff
Yadier Molina – Manager
Edgar Perez – Bench Coach
Victor Ramos – Pitching Coach
Jose Molina – Coach
Eduardo Nunez – Coach
Jose Leon – Coach
Edwin Rodriguez – Coach

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »