Caribbean Cup: Cuba Announces Roster For 2023 Tournament in Puerto Rico

Manager Armando Johnson of Team Cuba looks on during pregame ceremonies before the 2023 World Baseball Classic Semifinal game between Team Cuba and Team USA at loanDepot Park on Sunday, March 19, 2023 in Miami, Florida. (Photo by Daniel Shirey/WBCI/MLB Photos via Getty Images)

By Conor Liguori
World Baseball Network

The Federacion Cubana de Beisbol has released the roster Cuba will bring to the 2023 Caribbean Baseball Cup in Fajardo and Las Piedras, Puerto Rico.

The 2023 tournament will be the fifth annual Caribbean Baseball Cup, held from October 1-8.  

Cuba lost to Puerto Rico 9-4 in the 2022 Caribbean Cup championship game last December at Andre Rodger National Baseball Stadium in Nassau, Bahamas.  

Cuba will have two catchers, eight infielders, four outfielders, and 10 pitchers. Returning players from the 2023 World Baseball Classic include infielders Dayan Garcia, Yurisbel Garcia, and Erisbel Arruebarruena. Veteran outfielder Roel Santos will return, as will pitchers Yoennis Yera, Jose Rodriguez, Naykel Cruz, and Carlos Viera.  

Armando Johnson will return as manager after leading Cuba in the 2023 World Baseball Classic. German Mesa has been named the bench coach, Rafael Munoz will be the third base coach, Armando Ferrer first base coach, and Pedro Luis Lazo will be the pitching coach. All five coaches were members of the staff for Cuba at the 2023 World Baseball Classic.  

Cuba defeated Australia 4-3 in the quarterfinal of the World Baseball Classic to win Pool A, but lost to the United States 14-2 in the semifinal.  

Alazanes de Granma will be representing Serie Nacional de Béisbol at the 2023 Baseball Champions League, the first edition of the tournament. Only one player on Alazanes de Granma will be playing with Cuba at the 2023 Caribbean Cup, outfielder Roel Santos.  

Below is the 24-man roster Cuba will carry at the 2023 Caribbean Cup in Puerto Rico.  

Catchers (Team)  
Andrys Perez (Cocodrilos de Matanzas)  
Andy Cosme (Cazadores de Artemisa)  

Infielders (Team)  
Yasniel Gonzalez (Huracanes de Mayabeque)  
Osday Silva (Avispas de Santiago de Cuba)  
Yadil Mujica (Cocodrilos de Matanzas)  
Luis Vicente (Elefantes de Cienfuegos)  
Erisbel Arruebarruena (Cocodrilos de Matanzas)  
Dayan Garcia (Cazadores de Artemisa)  
Yurisbel Gracial (Cocodrilos de Matanzas)  
Roberto Baldoquin (Leñadores de Las Tunas)  

Outfielders (Team) 
Roel Santos (Alazanes de Granma)  
Luis Gonzalez  (Toros de Camaguey)
Yosvani Darcourt (Industriales de La Habana)  
Carlos Monier (Avispas de Santiago de Cuba)  

Pitchers (Team)  
Yeudis Reyes (Indios de Guantánamo)  
Jose Rodriguez (Ganaderos de Camaguey)  
Yanquiel Gutierrez (Gallos de Spiritus Sancti)
Carlos Viera (Leñadores de Las Tunas)  
Yoennis Montalvo (Cocodrilos de Matanzas)  
Naykel Cruz (Cocodrilos de Matanzas)  
Yunieski Garcia (Cazadores de Artemisa)  
Jonathan Carbo (Toronjeros de Isla de la Juventud)  
Franklyn Quintana (Toronjeros de Isla de la Juventud)  
Geonel Gutierrez (Cazadores de Artemisa)
Yoenis Yera (Cocodrilos de Matanzas)  

Coaching Staff  
Manager – Armando Johnson  
Bench Coach – German Mesa  
Pitching Coach – Pedro Luis Lazo  
Assistant Pitching Coach – Andres Garcia  
First Base Coach – Armando Ferrer  
Third Base Coach – Rafael Munoz  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »