About 3 minutes reading time.

Former Brewer Nilsson Leading Australia in 2023 World Baseball Classic

 Leif Skodnick  |    Feb 22nd, 2023 1:36pm EST

By Conor Liguori
World Baseball Network

Australia will compete in the World Baseball Classic for the first time since 2013. After failing to qualify in 2017, Australia will make its fourth appearance in the WBC. Back in 2013, the team was eliminated in the first round, going 0-3 with losses against Chinese Taipei, South Korea, and the Netherlands. 

Australia will be managed by Dave Nilsson, a former MLB catcher and outfielder with the Milwaukee Brewers who manages the Brisbane Bandits of the Australian Baseball League. Australia’s bullpen coach is Graeme Lloyd, who spent 10 seasons in the MLB, and is a two-time World Series champion with the New York Yankees. 

The majority of the roster plays in the ABL in Australia, but there are a handful with MLB and MilB experience. Pitcher Warwick Saupold appeared in 82 games for the Detroit Tigers from 2016-18, and has a career 4.98 ERA. Outfielder Aaron Whitefield is a member of the Los Angeles Angels organization, and has played eight games at the major league level. Catcher Alex Hall spent last season with the Carolina Mudcats, the single-A affiliate of the Milwaukee Brewers. He has also played six seasons in the ABL with the Perth Heat. 

Australia will compete in Pool B with Japan, Korea, China, and Czech Republic. Their toughest opponent may be Japan, who they open the tournament with on March 12, at 6 a.m. ET. 

Australia World Baseball Classic Roster 

Pitchers (Team)
Tim Atherton (Brisbane Bandits)
Liam Doolan (Los Angeles Dodgers)
Kyle Glogoski (Cincinnati Reds) 
Josh Guyer (Sydney Blue Sox) 
Sam Holland (Brisbane Bandits) 
Jon Kennedy (Melbourne Aces) 
Tim Kennelly (Perth Heat)
Steve Kent (Melbourne Aces)
Daniel Mcgrath (Melbourne Aces)
Mitch Neunborn (Adelaide Giants)
Jack O’Loughlin (Detroit Tigers)
Chris Oxspring (Sydney Blue Sox)
Warwick Saupold (Perth Heat) 
Will Sheriff (Arizona Diamondbacks) 
Josh Tols (Adelaide Giants) 
Blake Townsend (Seattle Mariners) 
Todd Van Steensel (Adelaide Giants) 
Luke Wilkins (Adelaide Giants) 
Coen Wynne (Sydney Blue Sox) 

Catchers (Team) 
Ryan Battaglia (Brisbane Bandits) 
Alex Hall (Milwaukee Brewers) 
Jordan McArdle (Adelaide Giants) 
Robbie Perkins (Canberra Cavalry) 

Infielders (Team) 
Jake Bowey (Perth Heat) 
Jarryd Dale (Melbourne Aces) 
Darryl George (Melbourne Aces) 
Robbie Glendinning (Kansas City Royals) 
Liam Spence (Adelaide Giants) 
Logan Wade (Brisbane Bandits) 
Rixon Wingrove (Adelaide Giants) 

Outfielders (Team)
Ulrich Bojarski (Perth Heat) 
Andrew Campbell (Brisbane Bandits) 
Aaron Whitefield (Los Angeles Angels) 

Coaching Staff 
Manager – Dave Nilsson 
Bench Coach – Shayne Watson 
Pitching Coach – Jim Bennett 
Hitting Coach – Chris Adamson 
Assistant Hitting Coach – Will Bradley 
First Base Coach – Michael Collins 
Third Base Coach – Andrew Graham 
Bullpen Coach – Graeme Lloyd