LBPRC’s Criollos de Caguas Announce Caribbean Series Roster

Photo: Getty Images

By Matthew Tallarini
World Baseball Network

The Criollos de Caguas of the Liga de Béisbol Profesional Roberto Clemente in Puerto Rico announced their official roster for the 2024 Caribbean Series on Tuesday. 

The 2024 Caribbean Series will be in Miami at loanDepot Park from Feb. 1-9. The 2024 Caribbean Series will be held at a Major League Baseball stadium for the first time since the tournament started in 1949. 

The Criollos de Caguas won the 2023-24 LBPRC championship on Sunday, beating Gigantes de Carolina 4-1 in game eight of the league’s best-of-nine championship series. 

The Criollos de Caguas have won 21 LBPRC championships in the history of their franchise and have been to the Caribbean Series 17 times. The Criollos de Caguas have won five Caribbean Series titles in 1954, 1974, 1987, 2017 and 2018. 

Criollos de Caguas manager Yadier Molina will manage Puerto Rico in the Caribbean Series for the first time during his coaching career. 

Criollos de Caguas outfielder Danny Ortiz won the MVP of the LBPRC best-of-nine championship series hitting .355 with 11 hits, two doubles, and three RBI during his performance. 

Criollos de Caguas will be reinforced with 16 players added to their roster for the Caribbean Series that have played during the 2023-24 LBPRC season. 

Nicaragua, Panama, and Curacao are the three invitees at the 2024 Caribbean Series. Venezuela, Puerto Rico, Mexico, and the Dominican Republic are all members of the Confederación de Béisbol Profesional del Caribe.  

Miami will host the Caribbean Series for the third time. The 1990 Caribbean Series was played at the Orange Bowl and the 1991 event was held at Bobby Maduro Miami Stadium. 

The Senadores de San Juan franchise played at the 1990 tournament and the Cangrejeros de Santurce appeared in the 1991 event for Puerto Rico. 

The Criollos de Caguas will return to the Caribbean Series since the 2022 tournament at Estadio Quisqueya Juan Marichal in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic where they finished in last place at 1-4. 

Puerto Rico has not won the Caribbean Series since the 2018 tournament with Criollos de Caguas beating Águilas Cibaeñas of the Dominican Republic 9-4 in the championship game. 

Puerto Rico will have their off day during the 2024 Caribbean Series on February 6 in the seven-team tournament. 

Puerto Rico will play Nicaragua in the first day of the 2024 Caribbean Series on Feb. 1 at 10:30 a.m. on ESPN Deportes at loanDepot Park. 

The Criollos de Caguas will have their team announcement ceremony on January 29 at 4:30 pm AST at the T-Mobile District in San Juan, Puerto Rico before heading to Miami. 

The Criollos de Caguas will hold their first team practice before they go to Miami at Hiram Bithorn Stadium in San Juan, Puerto on January 25. 

All of the games at the 2024 Caribbean Series will be televised on ESPN Deportes until the final out of the championship game. 

2024 Caribbean Series Schedule
All Games At loanDepot Park, Miami, Florida.
All times Eastern Standard Time.

Thursday, February 1, 2024
10:30 a.m. – Nicaragua vs. Puerto Rico

Friday, February 2, 2024
8:30 p.m. – Puerto Rico vs. Mexico

Saturday, February 3, 2024
8:30 p.m. – Dominican Republic vs. Puerto Rico

Sunday, February 4, 2024
3:30 p.m. – Puerto Rico vs. Venezuela

Monday, February 5, 2024
8:30 p.m. – Puerto Rico vs. Panama

Wednesday, February 7, 2024
10:30 a.m. – Curacao vs. Puerto Rico

Thursday, February 8, 2024
3 p.m. – Semifinal 1
8 p.m. – Semifinal 2

Friday, February 9, 2024
3 p.m. – Third-place Game
8 p.m. – Championship Game

2024 Criollos de Caguas – Puerto Rico Caribbean Series Roster 

Pitchers (Team)
Alex Sanabia (Criollos de Caguas) 
Derrick Adams (Criollos de Caguas)
Daryl Thompson (Indios de Mayagüez)
Luke Westphal (Indios de Mayaguez)
Ricardo Vélez (Criollos de Caguas)  
Ricardo Gómez (Criollos de Caguas) 
Alex Claudio (Criollos de Caguas) 
Christian Torres (Criollos de Caguas)
Ángel Reyes (Gigantes de Carolina)
Eduardo Rivera (Gigantes de Carolina) 
Danny Wirchansky (Indios de Mayagüez) 
Endrys Briceño (Cangrejeros de Santurce) 
Bryan García (Cangrejeros de Santurce) 
Lincoln Henzman (Indios de Mayagüez)
Chávez Fernander (Indios de Mayagüez) 

Catchers (Team)
Jonathan Morales (Criollos de Caguas)
JC Escarra (Leones de Ponce) 

Infielders (Team) 
Vimael Machín (Criollos de Caguas)
Jancarlos Cintrón (Criollos de Caguas)
Emmanuel Rivera (Indios de Mayagüez) 
Jack López (Cangrejeros de Santurce) 
Gabriel Arias (Cangrejeros de Santurce) 

Outfielders (Team) 
Nelson Velázquez (Criollos de Caguas)
Johneshwy Fargas (Criollos de Caguas) 
Dwight Smith Jr. (Criollos de Caguas)
Danny Ortiz (Indios de Mayagüez) 
Bryan Torres (Gigantes de Carolina) 
Heliot Ramos (Cangrejeros de Santurce) 

2024 Criollos de Caguas – Puerto Rico Caribbean Series Coaching Staff 
Manager – Yadier Molina 
Bench Coach – Edgar Perez 
Pitching Coach – Victor Ramos 
Bullpen Coach – Enrique Calero 
Hitting Coach – Michael Montville
First Base Coach – Luis Lopez 
Third Base Coach – Kleninger Teran

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »