About 2 minutes reading time.

LMB: Puebla Leads Yucatan 2-0; Laredo Takes Game 1 From Union Laguna

 Leif Skodnick  |    Aug 30th, 2023 11:17am EDT

Staff Reports
World Baseball Network

Pericos de Puebla Lead Serie Campeonato 2-0 over Leones de Yucatan

The Pericos de Puebla have a two-games-to-none lead in the best-of-seven Serie Campeonato in the Liga Mexicana de Beisbol’s Zona Sur.

Puebla took Game 1 of the series 3-1 behind a dominant eight-inning outing by starter Gabriel Ynoa, an RBI double by Cristhian Adames in the top of the fifth, and Chris Carter followed with an RBI single of his own to give Puebla some insurance. 

Elkin Alcala earned the save for Puebla in Game 1, retiring the side in order.

In Game 2, the Pericos got out to a 4-0 lead in the first inning and never looked back, holding on to win 5-2.

Chris Carter’s one-out RBI double gave Puebla a 1-0 lead when Drew Stankiewicz scored from second. The next batter, Danny Ortiz, launched a three-run homer that scored Adames and Carter for a 4-0 lead.

Game 3 of the Zona Sur Serie Campeonato is Thursday at 9 p.m. EDT, and will be streamed on Jonron.tv with a paid subscription.

Tecolotes de Los Dos Laredos Top Algodoneros de Union Laguna 8-5

Ryan Aguilar went 3-for-4 with five RBIs as the Tecos topped the Algodoneros de Union Laguna 8-5 to take the lead in the Zona Norte Serie Campeonato.

Aguilar belted a three-run homer in the bottom of the fifth and smacked a two-run single in the bottom of the fifth that put the Tecos ahead for good in Game 1 of the series.

Brandon Brennan threw five solid innings for the Two Laredos, and Geoff Broussard earned his fourth save of the postseason.

Game 2 of the Zona Norte Serie Campeonato is Wednesday at 9:05 p.m. EDT, and will be streamed on Jonron.tv with a paid subscription.

author avatar
Leif Skodnick