Naranjeros de Hermosillo Announce 2024 Caribbean Series Roster

Photo: Getty Images

By Matthew Tallarini
World Baseball Network

The 2023-24 Liga ARCO Mexicana del Pacifico Champion Naranjeros de Hermosillo announced their 2024 Caribbean Series official roster on January 27. 

The 2024 Caribbean Series will be played from Feb. 1-9 at loanDepot Park in Miami. 

Mexico will be managed by Juan Gabriel Castro at the 2024 Caribbean Series. 

The Naranjeros de Hermosillo have won 17 LAMP titles and two Caribbean Series championships in their organization. 

The Naranjeros de Hermosillo won the 2023-24 LAMP season by beating the Venados de Mazatlan 4-0 on January 24 to sweep the best-of-seven championship series. 

The last time the Naranjeros de Hermosillo won the Caribbean Series was in 2014 at Estadio Nueva Esparta in Margarita Island, Porlamar, Venezuela, beating the Indios de Mayagüez of the Liga de Béisbol Profesional Roberto Clemente in Puerto Rico 7-1 in the championship game. 

The 2024 Caribbean Series will be the first time that the event will be held in a Major League Baseball Stadium since the tournament began in 1949. 

The Naranjeros de Hermosillo is returning to Miami for the Caribbean Series for the first time since the tournament was held outside of Latin America in 1990 at the Orange Bowl. The Orange Bowl once stood where loanDepot Park is currently located in the Little Havana neighborhood just west of downtown Miami. 

Hermosillo finished in last place at the 1990 Caribbean Series with their record at 1-5. The last LAMP team to play in Miami at the 1991 Caribbean was the Potros de Tijuana, which was also their final winter league season of operation. 

The Naranjeros de Hermosillo also played in the 1971 Caribbean Series, the first year that Mexico participated in the tournament. 

The last time Mexico won the Caribbean Series was during the 2016 tournament at Estadio Quisqueya Juan Marichal in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, with the Venados de Mazatlán beating the Tigres de Aragua of Liga Venezolana de Beisbol Profesional 5-4 in the championship game, going undefeated at the event. The 2016 Caribbean Series was the only time that Mexico finished undefeated. 

Naranjeros de Hermosillo outfielder Aaron Altherr won the LAMP best-of-seven championship series MVP, hitting .245 in 16 at-bats with three hits, two doubles, one home run, one walk, and seven strikeouts during his performance. 

The Naranjeros de Hermosillo pitching staff allowed five earned runs during the best-of-seven championship series. 

Hermosillo starting pitcher Manny Bareda led the 2023-24 winter league season with a 1.96 ERA and a 0.93 WHIP. 

The Naranjeros de Hermosillo will appear in their 14th Caribbean Series in franchise history once they take the field during the first day of the tournament on February 1 against Curacao at 3:30 p.m. EST at loanDepot Park in Miami and will be televised on ESPN Deportes.

All of the 2024 Caribbean Series games will be televised on ESPN Deportes. 

2024 Mexico Caribbean Series Official Roster                                                                                            

Pitchers (Reinforcement Team)
Ordrisamer Despaigne (Yaquis de Obregón)
Jeff Kinley (Algodoneros de Guasave)
Manny Barreda (Tomateros de Culiacán)
Zach Matson (Mayos de Navojoa)
Jake Sanchez (Águilas de Mexicali)
Elkin Acala (Venados de Mazatlán)
Juan Gamez (Cañeros de Los Mochis)
Wilmer Rios
Joe Van Meter
Omar Cruz
Curtis Taylor
Taylor Williams
Fernando Salas
Luis Marquez
Jake Sanchez
Jose Samayoa 

Catchers (Reinforcement Team)
Alexis Wilson (Tomateros de Culiacán)                                                                                                                Julian Leon  

Infielders (Reinforcement Team)
Bobby Bradley (Sultanes de Monterrey)
Ramiro Pena (Venados de Mazatlán)
Roberto Valenzuela (Sultanes de Monterrey)
Juan Carlos Gamboa (Yaquis de Obregón)
Agustin Murillo
Irving Lopez
Isaac Paredes   

Outfielders (Reinforcement Team)
Julian Ornelas (Charros de Jalisco)
Randy Romero (Venados de Mazatlán)
Jose Cardona
Aaron Altherr 

Mexico 2024 Caribbean Series Roster
Manager – Juan Gabriel Castro
Jesus Arredondo 
Elmer Dessens 
Carlos Gastelum 
Hector Estrada 
Christian Lucero 

2024 Caribbean Series Schedule
All Games At loanDepot Park, Miami, Florida.
All times Eastern Standard Time.

Thursday, February 1, 2024
10:30 a.m. – Nicaragua vs. Puerto Rico
3:30 p.m. – Curacao vs. Mexico
8:30 p.m. – Venezuela vs. Dominican Republic

Friday, February 2, 2024
10:30 a.m. – Panama vs. Curacao
3:30 p.m. – Dominican Republic vs. Nicaragua
8:30 p.m. – Puerto Rico vs. MexicoSaturday, February 3, 2024
10:30 a.m. – Venezuela vs. Curacao
3:30 p.m. – Mexico vs. Panama
8:30 p.m. – Dominican Republic vs. Puerto Rico

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »