About 4 minutes reading time.

Nicaragua Announces Preselection Roster For 2024 Caribbean Series In Miami

 Leif Skodnick - World Baseball Network  |    Jan 18th, 2024 11:43am EST

(Photo: Getty Images)

By Matthew Tallarini
World Baseball Network

The Federación Nicaragüense de Béisbol Asociada announced their preselection 2024 Caribbean Series roster on Jan. 17. 

The 2024 Caribbean Series will be held in Miami at loanDepot Park from Feb. 1-9. 

Nicaragua will play their first game of the 2024 Caribbean Series on Feb. 1 at loanDepot Park against Puerto Rico at 10:30 a.m. EST and will be televised on ESPN Deportes. 

The 2024 Caribbean Series will be the first time that the event will take place in a Major League Baseball stadium. 

Nicaragua’s roster will have Nicaraguan-born players as well as up to seven foreign players. The team will be made up of players from all five teams in the Liga de Beisbol Profesional Nacional. Nicaragua scouted for other players to join the team as reinforcements for the 2024 Caribbean Series roster from the pool of players who played in the winter leagues during the 2023-24 season. 

Players that have played in the U.S. minor leagues, Major League Baseball, independent leagues in the United States and Canada, and professional free agents are on Nicaragua’s provisional roster for the 2024 Caribbean Series. 

Luis Ramirez, Yoanner Negrin, Jesus Linarez, Samuel Adames, Euclides Leyer, Francisco Peguero, Jarius Richards, and Alay Lago are the foreign players listed on Nicaragua’s provisional roster. 

Melvin Novoa, Juan Diego Montes, Leonardo Crawford, Carlos Teller, Junior Tellez, Elian Miranda, Cheslor Cuthbert, Fidencio Flores, Osman Gutierrez, Norlando Valle, Ronald Medrano and Joaquin Acuna all played in the 2023 World Baseball Classic for Nicaragua and are on the provisional roster for the 2024 Caribbean Series. 

Nemasio Porras is the president of FENIBA. 

FENIBA announced Marvin Bernard as their manager for the 2024 Caribbean Series on Dec. 18. 

The 2024 Caribbean Series coaching staff for Nicaragua includes Juan Lopez being the bench coach and hitting coach, Lenin Picota assigned as the pitching coach, Oswaldo Mairena as a bullpen coach, Sandor Guido will be the third base coach, and Eddy Talavera is assigned as the first base coach. 

Nicaragua’s last participated in a club tournament when the country played in the Latin American Series, which was established in 2013 and played through 2019. Nicaragua won four straight Latin American Series from 2016-2019. Gigantes de Rivas represented Nicaragua in 2016, Tigres de Chinandega in 2017 and 2018, and Leones de Leon in 2019. 

This will be the first time Nicaragua will have a team in the Caribbean Series in their nation’s history. The Caribbean Series was established in 1949. 

Nicaragua is entering the seven-team field as one of the three invitees of the 2024 Caribbean Series with Panama and Curacao. The winner of the 2024 ProBeis league in Panama will be representing the nation during the 2024 Caribbean Series. Curacao will have the Curacao Suns as their club team from the 2023 Curacao Professional Baseball League in its first year of operation this past December to represent the island during the 2024 Caribbean Series. The Federashon Di Beisbol Di Korsou operates the Curacao Professional Baseball League. 

All of the 2024 Caribbean Series games will be televised on ESPN Deportes. 

Nicaragua will have the day off on February 3 during the seven-team tournament. 

2024 Nicaragua Caribbean Series Schedule 
All games are at loanDepot Park 

Thursday, Feb. 1, 2024 
10:30 a.m. EST  – Nicaragua vs. Puerto Rico

Friday, Feb. 2, 2024 
3:30 p.m. EST – Dominican Republic vs. Nicaragua  

Sunday, Feb. 4, 2024 
10:30 a.m. EST  – Panama vs. Nicaragua

Monday, Feb. 5, 2024 
10:30 a.m. EST – Nicaragua vs. Curacao

Tuesday, Feb. 6, 2024 
10:30 a.m. EST – Mexico vs. Nicaragua

Wednesday, Feb. 7, 2024 
8:30 p.m. EST – Nicaragua vs. Venezuela  

Thursday, Feb. 8, 2024 
3 p.m. EST – Semifinal 1  
8 p.m. EST – Semifinal 2  

Friday, Feb. 9, 2024 
3 p.m. EST – Third Place Game
8 p.m. EST – Championship Game 

Nicaragua 2024 Caribbean Series Preselection Roster 

Bryan Herrera 
Carlos Teller 
Ernesto Glasgon 
Euclides Leyer 
Fidencio Flores 
Jesus Linarez 
Jesus Garrido 
Joaquin Acuna 
Yeris Gonzalez 
Junior Tellez 
Leonardo Crawford 
Luis Ramirez 
Oliver Espinoza 
Osman Gutierrez 
Pedro Torres 
Ronald Medrano 
Samuel Adames 
Stiven Cruz 
Yoanner Negrin 

Melvin Novoa 
Raudy Read 
Rodolfo Bone 

Alay Lago 
Benjamin Alegria 
Brandon Leyton 
Cheslor Cuthbert 
Elian Miranda 
Freddvil Chevez 
Jesus Lopez 
Jose Orozco 

Francisco Peguero 
Jairus Richards 
Juan Diego Montes 
Luis Montealto 
Norlando Valle 
Omar Mendoza

author avatar
Leif Skodnick - World Baseball Network