About 4 minutes reading time.

Pan Am Games Baseball Tourney Groups, Schedule Announced

 Matt Tallarini  |    Sep 9th, 2023 10:37am EDT

2023 Pan Am Games Baseball Schedule (Courtesy WBSC Americas)

The World Baseball Softball Confederation Americas sector announced the groups and schedule for the baseball tournament at the 2023 Pan American Games in Santiago, Chile on Thursday. 


The Pan American Games will have a total of eight nations in the baseball event, including No. 3 Mexico, No. 6 Venezuela, No. 8 Cuba, No. 10 Dominican Republic, No. 11 Panama, No. 16 Colombia, No. 24 Brazil, and host nation Chile, which is not ranked in the World Baseball Rankings. Chile has not been ranked in two consecutive World Baseball Ranking cycles, including the rankings released on December 31, 2022 and March 28, 2023, after the World Baseball Classic.

The Pan American Games baseball tournament will be held from October 18 to October 28 at the Baseball and Softball Center in Cerrillos, Chile.

Following the group stage will be the Super Round, which will be played October 25-27. The bronze medal game and gold medal game of the 2023 Pan American Games will be played on October 28.

Group A will have Mexico, the Dominican Republic, Panama, and host nation Chile. Group B will have Venezuela, Cuba, Colombia, and Brazil. 

Venezuela has the highest World Baseball Ranking in Group B after winning the bronze medal at the 2023 Central American and Caribbean Games. 

Mexico, the Dominican Republic, Venezuela, and Cuba all qualified for the 2023 Pan American Games by their performance at the 2023 Central American and Caribbean Games this past summer in San Salvador, El Salvador. 

Panama qualified for the Pan American Qualifiers in June in Buenos Aires, Argentina, when they beat host nation Argentina in the final qualifier game 9-3. 

Brazil qualified in July 2022 for the 2023 Pan American Games, beating Argentina 2-0 in the 2022 South American Baseball Championship in Lima, Peru. 

Colombia qualified for the 2023 Pan American Games in December 2021 at the Junior Pan American Games in Barranquilla, Colombia, beating the Dominican Republic in the gold medal game 6-3. 

The last Pan American Games was held in 2019 in Lima, Peru when Puerto Rico beat Canada in the gold medal game 6-1. 

The 2023 Pan American Games will be the last senior event of the international baseball calendar year from the WBSC Americas sector prior to the rankings being released on December 31, 2023. 

All listed streaming updates of the 2023 Pan American Games will be provided on the WBSC Americas social media pages and website. 

2023 Pan American Games Pool Round Schedule

All times are listed Eastern Daylight Time

Wednesday October 18, 2023
8:30 a.m. EDT – Mexico vs. Chile  

Thursday October 19, 2023
8:30 a.m. EDT – Panama vs. Dominican Republic
2 p.m. EDT – Venezuela vs. Brazil

Friday October 20, 2023 
8:30 a.m. EDT – Colombia vs. Cuba  

Saturday October 21, 2023
8:30 a.m. EDT – Dominican Republic vs. Mexico
2 p.m. EDT – Chile vs. Panama

Sunday October 22, 2023 
8:30 a.m. EDT – Brazil vs. Colombia 
2 p.m. EDT  – Cuba vs. Venezuela

Monday October 23, 2023
8:30 a.m. EDT – Panama vs. Mexico
2 p.m. EDT – Chile vs. Dominican Republic

Tuesday October 24, 2023
8:30 a.m. EDT – Brazil vs. Cuba
2 p.m. EDT – Colombia vs. Venezuela

Pan American Games Champions  

Year Host Gold Silver Bronze
1951 Buenos Aires, Argentina Cuba USA Mexico
1955 Mexico City Dominican Republic USA Venezuela
1959       Chicago Venezuela Puerto Rico            USA
1963       São Paulo, Brazil Cuba USA Mexico
1967       Winnipeg, Manitoba             USA Cuba Puerto Rico
1971       Cali, Colombia Cuba USA Colombia
1975       Mexico City Cuba USA Venezuela
1979       San Juan, Puerto Rico Cuba     Dominican Republic   Puerto Rico
1983       Caracas, Venezuela Cuba Nicaragua USA
1987         Indianapolis Cuba           USA               Puerto Rico
1991           Havana Cuba Puerto Rico USA
1995   Mar del Plata, Argentina Cuba Nicaragua Puerto Rico
1999     Winnipeg, Manitoba Cuba USA Canada 
2003 Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic Cuba USA Mexico 
2007     Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Cuba USA  Mexico/Venezuela*
2011     Guadalajara, Mexico Canada USA Cuba
2015     Toronto Canada     USA Cuba
2019      Lima, Peru Puerto Rico Canada       Nicaragua
        * – Mexico and Venezuela shared bronze medal