Panama ProBeis League Championship Series Starts Wednesday Evening

By Matthew Tallarini
World Baseball Network

The first game of the 2024 ProBeis best-of-five championship series between the Federales de Chiriqui and the Aguilas Metropolitanas will be on Jan. 24 at 7 p.m. EST at Estadio Justino Salinas in La Chorrera, Panamá Oeste Province, Panama. 

The 2024 Panama ProBeis regular season ended on January 23, and the winner of the ProBeis league season will play in the 2024 Caribbean Series at loanDepot Park in Miami from Feb. 1-9. 

Former Panamanian Major League Baseball legend Carlos Lee is the president of the ProBeis Panama league, which had three participating teams in 2024: the Aguilas Metropolitanas, Panama Metro, and the Federales de Chiriquí.

The Federales de Chriqui finished in first place during the 2024 season at 8-6. The Aguilas Metropolitanas took second place and earned a berth to the finals with a 7-6 record. The Panama Metro finished in last place at 5-8 and did not qualify for the league’s best-of-five championship series. 

All of the 2024 ProBeis regular season games at Estadio Rod Carew in Panama City, Panama, and Estadio de Béisbol Justino Salinas in La Chorrera, Panama. 

The Federales de Chriqui are the only team that played 14 games during the 2024 regular season. 

Aguilas Metropolitanas first baseman Xavier Quiroz led the 2024 season with a batting average of .392. Federales de Chriqui catcher Christian Bethancourt and infielder Allen Cordoba were tied for the 2024 ProBeis season in home runs with two each. Aguilas Metropolitanas pitcher Luis Machuca led the 2024 season in wins with a 3-0 record. 

Panama is one of three invitees to the 2024 Caribbean Series, with Nicaragua and Curacao also participating at the event in Miami. Venezuela, Puerto Rico, Mexico, and the Dominican Republic are the members of the Confederación de Béisbol Profesional del Caribe, which organizes the Caribbean Series. 

The Federales de Chriqui appeared at the 2023 Caribbean Series in Caracas, Venezuela and finished in sixth place with their record at 3-4 and did not qualify for the semifinals. 

The Federales de Chiriqui also participated in the Caribbean Series in 2021 in Mazatlan, Mexico, at Estadio Teodoro Mariscal as an invitee. The league did not have a full regular season in 2020-2021 due to the COVID-19 Pandemic. The Federales de Chiriquí were invited to the 2021 Caribbean Series after finishing in second place during the 2019-20 winter league season, losing to Astronautas de Chiriqui in the 2020 ProBeis championship series. That franchise participated at the 2020 event in San Juan Puerto Rico at Hiram Bithorn Stadium. 

The Aguilas Metropolitanas are looking for their first berth in the Caribbean Series. 

Panama has appeared in the Caribbean Series from 1949-60 and returned to the event in 2019 when the country hosted the tournament at Estadio Rod Carew due to the Venezuelan political crisis. Panama will participate in their sixth consecutive Caribbean Series during the 2024 event in Miami at loanDepot Park. 

All of the ProBeis best-of-five championship series games will be played at Estadio Justino Salinas in La Chorrera, Panamá Oeste Province, Panama. The league has not announced any streaming information for the best-of-five championship series. 

2024 Panama ProBeis Best-of-Five Championship Series Schedule
All game start times are Eastern Standard Time
*If Necessary 

Jan. 24, 2024 
Game 1 – Aguilas Metropolitanas vs. Federales de Chiriquí – 7:00 p.m. 

Jan. 25, 2024 
Game 2 – Federales de Chiriquí vs. Aguilas Metropolitanas – 7:00 p.m. 

Jan. 26, 2024 
Game 3 – Aguilas Metropolitanas vs. Federales de Chiriquí – 1:00 p.m. 

Jan. 27, 2024 
*Game 4 – Federales de Chiriquí vs. Aguilas Metropolitanas – 7:00 p.m. 

Jan. 28, 2024 
*Game 5 – Aguilas Metropolitanas vs. Federales de Chiriquí – 7:00 p.m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »