About 2 minutes reading time.

Venezuela to Replace Puerto Rico as 2026 Caribbean Series Host

 Conor Liguori  |    Jun 4th, 2024 5:00pm EDT

The Caribbean Series makes its return to Venezuela in 2026. On Tuesday morning, Liga Venezolana de Beisbol Profesional president Giuseppe Palmisano announced the breaking news at a press conference at Estadio de Béisbol de La Rinconada in Caracas, Venezuela, one of the host stadiums of the 2026 Caribbean Series.  

Palmisano added that Estadio Jorge Luis Garcia Carneiro (formerly known as Estadio Forum La Guaira) in Macuto, Vargas, Venezuela, and Estadio Universitario in Caracas, Venezuela, will also host Caribbean Series games in 2026.  

According to reports by Lider en Deportes on Tuesday, the Confederación de Beisbol Profesional del Caribe (CBPC) has agreed to have Venezuela host the 2026 Serie del Caribe in place of Puerto Rico, which was initially scheduled to host the tournament.  

Lider en Deportes reports Puerto Rico will relinquish 2026 Caribbean Series duties to Venezuela because Estadio Hiram Bithorn in San Juan, Puerto Rico, is already the host site for Pool A of the 2026 World Baseball Classic. The CBPC announced Tuesday that Puerto Rico will host the Caribbean Series in 2029 instead.  

The Caribbean Series was last held in Venezuela in 2023 at Estadio de Béisbol de La Rinconada in Caracas and Estádio Jorge Luis Garcia Carneiro in La Guaira. In that year’s tournament edition, the Tigres del Licey of LIDOM defeated the Leones del Caracas of the LVBP 3-0 in the championship game to claim the 11th Caribbean Series title in franchise history.  

This past February, the 66th edition of the Caribbean Series was held at LoanDepotPark in Miami, Florida, home of Major League Baseball’s Miami Marlins. Representing Venezuela, the Tibuornes de la Guaira won their first Caribbean Series title, defeating the Tigres del Licey 3-0 in the championship game under the leadership of manager Ozzie Guillen.  

Below are the host sites of the following five Caribbean Series, as announced and confirmed by the CBPC.  

2025– Mexicali, Mexico  

2026 – Venezuela  

2027 – Hermosillo, México  

2028 – Dominican Republic  

2029 – Puerto Rico  


author avatar
Conor Liguori