CBPC Announces 2024 Caribbean Baseball Hall of Fame Inductees

(Photo courtesy of the CBPC.)

By Conor Liguori
World Baseball Networ

On Wednesday, the Confederación de Beisbol Profesional del Caribe announced that five former players had been elected to the Pabellon de la Fama del Caribe – the Caribbean Baseball Hall of Fame.  

The class of 2024 includes right-handed pitcher Julian Tavarez, outfielder Jesus Feliciano, primary outfielder Cesar Tovar, right-handed pitcher Francisco Campos, and right-handed pitcher Odell Jones.  

The newest members received the minimum 75 percent vote from baseball journalists and broadcasters from Latin American countries such as Mexico, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, and the Dominican Republic. There will be an induction ceremony during the 2024 Caribbean Series on February 8 in Miami.  

“I am satisfied with this choice of yours, and the Caribbean Professional Baseball Confederation is very proud to have great names such as Cesar Tovar, Jesus Feliciano, Francisco Campos, Julian Tavarez, and Odell Jones,” said the Confederación de Beisbol Profesional del Caribe commissioner Juan Francisco Puello Herrera in a press release. “I saw most of them play, and it is an honor to give them this great news. This exaltation means a lot for the CBPC and for Caribbean Baseball.”  

RHP Julian Tavarez – Tavarez was born in the Dominican Republic and enjoyed a 17-year playing career in Major League Baseball with 11 organizations. He made his last appearance in 2009 with the Washington Nationals. Tavarez finished his MLB career with a 4.46 ERA and 842 strikeouts in 828 games, mostly in relief.  

Tavarez played in eight Caribbean Series throughout his career—six times as a member of the Aguilas Cibaenas and two times with the Tigres del Licey. He is a five-time Caribbean Series champion, helping the Dominican Republic win in 1994, 1997, 1998, 2001, and 2007.  

OF Jesus Feliciano – Feliciano was born in Puerto Rico and played 54 career MLB games with the New York Mets in 2010. Otherwise, he spent 15 years of his professional baseball career in the minor league systems of the Los Angeles Dodgers, Tampa Bay Rays, Washington Nationals, and New York Mets.  

Feliciano, 44, participated in six Caribbean Series. He represented the Indios de Mayaguez and Criollos de Caguas twice and the Gigantes de Carolina and Leones de Ponce one time each. Feliciano led all players with 13 hits and a .481 batting average in the 2010 Caribbean Series in Venezuela.  

OF Cesar Tovar – Cesar Tovar was born in Venezuela and played 12 seasons in MLB from 1965-76. He spent eight years of his MLB career with the Minnesota Twins and played his last game in 1976 with the New York Yankees. More of a contact hitter, Tovar only hit 46 home runs in 1,488 career games but stole 226 bases and walked three more times (413) than he struck out (410).  

Tovar was a member of the champion Navegantes del Magallanes in the 1970 Caribbean Series, the first team from Venezuela to win the event. He hit .305 with 25 hits in 20 Caribbean Series games. Tovar passed away in 1994 at 54 years old.  

RHP Francisco Campos  Campos was born in Mexico and played 21 seasons of professional baseball, mostly in  Liga Mexicana de Beisbol with the Piratas de Campeche. He signed with the Houston Astros as a catcher in 1991 but hit .147 in 21 games in the Florida Complex League.  

Campos threw 3,091 innings and finished his career with a 3.58 ERA. He participated in six Caribbean Series and is a two-time champion with the Tomateros de Culiacan in 2002 and Venados de Mazatlan in 2005. He finished first in wins (2), strikeouts (23), ERA (1.13), and innings pitched (16) in the 2005 Caribbean Series.  

RHP Odell Jones – Jones, 70, was born in California and played nine seasons in MLB from 1975-88. He posted a 4.42 ERA in 201 games, mainly with the Texas Rangers and Pittsburgh Pirates.  

He participated in five Caribbean Series with teams from Puerto Rico, the Dominican Republic, and Venezuela, including the Vaqueros de Bayamon, Tiburones de La Guaira, Aguilas Cibaenas, and Tigres del Licey. He was a one-time Caribbean Series champion with the Tigres del Licey in 1977.  

The 2024 Caribbean Series will take place at loanDepot Park in Miami, Florida, from Feb. 1 to Feb. 9. The 2024 Caribbean Series will be the first time the tournament is being played at a Major League Baseball stadium since the event started in 1949. Seven nations will participate, and one team will sit out on each day of pool play. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »