Curacao Announces Roster for 2024 Caribbean Series in Miami

Photo: Getty Images

By Matthew Tallarini
World Baseball Network

The Federashon Di Beisbol Di Korsou announced their official roster for the 2024 Caribbean Series on their social media pages on Sunday. 

The Curacao Suns will represent the island as the champions of the 2023 Curacao Professional Baseball League at the 2024 Caribbean Series in Miami at loanDepot Park from February 1-9. Curacao will participate in the Caribbean Series for the second consecutive year.

The 2024 Caribbean Series will be played at a Major League Baseball stadium for the first time since the tournament started in 1949. 

Curacao will play their first game of the 2024 Caribbean Series on Feb. 1 against Mexico at 3:30 p.m. EST in Miami at loanDepot Park on ESPN Deportes. All of the 2024 Caribbean Series games will be televised on ESPN Deportes. Curacao will have an off day during the seven-team tournament on Feb. 4. 

Curacao, Nicaragua, and Panama are invitees to the 2024 Caribbean Series. Nicaragua will participate in the Caribbean Series for the first time in 2024. 

The Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Mexico and Venezuela are part of the Confederación de Béisbol Profesional del Caribe. 

Curacao went 2-5 in their first appearance of the tournament at the 2023 Caribbean Series in Caracas, Venezuela and ended in seventh place at the eight-team event, resulting in not making the semifinals. 

The 2023 Caribbean Series was the first time that the event was hosted in two stadiums: at Estadio Fórum La Guaira in Macuto, La Guaira, Venezuela, and Estadio Monumental de Caracas Simón Bolívar in Caracas, Venezuela. 

The Curacao Suns beat the Willemstad Cannons in the championship game of the Curacao Professional Baseball League 6-5. In the bottom of the seventh inning off, pinch hitter Shakir Albert drove in the game-winning run with a double. The Curacao Professional Baseball league played seven inning games and will operate as a full-season league next year, rather than a one-week showcase. 

In 2023, its first year of operation, the Curacao Professional Baseball league played from Dec. 3-10.

Hainley Statia will manage the Curacao Suns in the 2024 Caribbean Series. 

The Curacao Suns roster for the 2024 Caribbean Series was built with players who have played in the lower levels of the U.S. minor leagues, professional free agents, players that have played in the 2023 Curacao Professional Baseball league season, and other international professional leagues.

Former MLB players Andrelton Simmons, Didi Gregorious, Roger Bernadina, Wladimir Balentien and current MLB free agent Jonathan Schoop will be on the Curacao Suns roster for the 2024 Caribbean Series. 

The Caribbean Series is part of the Winter League Agreement from Major League Baseball which results in the eligibility process for players to play in the event hosted by the CBPC if they were on active rosters in the winter leagues during the 2023-24 regular season. 

Curacao 2024 Caribbean Series Schedule
All Games At loanDepot Park, Miami, Florida.
All times Eastern Standard Time.

Thursday, Feb. 1, 2024
3:30 p.m. – Curacao vs. Mexico

Friday, Feb. 2, 2024
10:30 a.m. – Panama vs. Curacao

Saturday, Feb. 3, 2024
10:30 a.m. – Venezuela vs. Curacao

Monday, Feb. 5, 2024
10:30 a.m. – Nicaragua vs. Curacao

Tuesday, Feb. 6, 2024
3:30 p.m. – Curacao vs. Dominican Republic

Wednesday, Feb. 7, 2024
10:30 a.m. – Curacao vs. Puerto Rico

Thursday, Feb. 8, 2024
3 p.m. – Semifinal 1
8 p.m. – Semifinal 2

Friday, Feb. 9, 2024
3 p.m. – Third-place Game
8 p.m. – Championship Game

Curacao Suns Provisional 2024 Caribbean Series Roster 

Scott Prins
Shairon Martis
Juan Carlos Sulbaran
Cody Mincey
Nelmserson Angela
Arlison Rodriguez
Alexander Rodriguez
Eric Mendez
Kevin Kelly
Wendell Floranus
Franklin Van Gurp
Shea Spitzbarth
Anthony Herrera
Nestor Molina
Cerilio Soleana
Victor Capellan 

Hendrick Clementina
Dashenko Ricardo
Ulrich Snijders

Sharlon Schoop
Juremi Profar
Didi Gregorius
Andrelton Simmons
Darren Seferina
Dudley Leonora
Jonathan Schoop 

Roger Bernadina
Jurickson Profar
Wladimir Balentien
Ademar Rifaela
Jonathan Martijn
Edmond Americaan

2024 Curacao Caribbean Series Official Coaching Staff
Manager – Hainley Statia
Bench Coach – Carlos Pineda
Pitching Coach – Calvin Maduro
Bullpen Coach – Gustavo De Jongh
Hitting Coach – Ivanon Coffie
First Base Coach – Franklin Confesor
Third Base Coach – Ghionelo Jansen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »