LMB: Algodoneros de Union Laguna Take Commanding 2-0 Lead in Serie del Rey

Players of Algodoneros de Union Laguna gesture prior the third playoff game between Sultanes de Monterrey and Algodoneros Union Laguna as part of Liga Mexicana de Beisbol 2023 at Estadio Revolucion on August 12, 2023 in Torreon, Mexico. (Photo by Jos Alvarez/Jam Media/Getty Images)

Staff Reports
World Baseball Network

The bats of the Algondoneros de Union Laguna are anything but soft.

They’ve shown that in the first two games of the Serie del Rey, the championship series of the Liga Mexicana de Beisbol, defeating the Pericos de Puebla 5-4 in Game 1 and then laying the boots to the Pericos 14-3 in Game 2.

Puebla got what they needed from Game 1 starter Gabriel Ynoa – six innings of two-hit ball, with Ynoa walking none and striking out two. The only blemishes were former Major Leaguer Jonathan Villar’s RBI single in the first and his sac fly in the bottom of the third. 

In the bottom of the ninth, Pericos closer Elkin Alcala walked JC Escarra, who then advanced to second on a wild pitch. Two batters later, Adrian Tovalin singled to the right side and advanced Escarra to third. Alcala walked Albert Lara to load the bases with one out, and then Edgar Robles singled to center, scoring Escarra and Tovalin to tie the game. Allen Cordoba then singled to send Lara home with the winning run.

In Game 2, Union Laguna picked up two runs in the bottom of the first, four more in the bottom of the second, and six in the bottom of the third, manufacturing runs off base hits. Every Union Laguna starter notched at least one hit as the Algodoneros blasted Puebla pitching for 16 hits, including doubles by Villar, Edgar Robles, and Nicolas Torres. Torres hit the only homer of the game for Union Laguna, a two-run shot in the bottom of the fifth that made it a 14-1 ballgame.

Game 3 of the 2023 Serie del Rey is Monday, September 11 at 9 p.m. EDT and will be streamed on Jonron.tv with a paid subscription.

2023 Serie del Rey Schedule

Friday, Sept. 8 – Union Laguna 5, Puebla 4 – 9 p.m. EDT 
Saturday, Sept. 9 – Union Laguna 14, Puebla 3 – 9 p.m. EDT
Monday, Sept. 11 – Union Laguna at Puebla – 9 p.m. EDT
Tuesday, Sept. 12 – Union Laguna at Puebla – 9 p.m. EDT
Wednesday, Sept. 13 – Union Laguna at Puebla – 9 p.m. EDT*
Friday, Sept. 15 – Puebla at Union Laguna – 9 p.m. EDT*
Saturday, Sept. 16 – Puebla at Union Laguna – 9 p.m. EDT* 
* – If necessary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »