About 3 minutes reading time.

LMB: Veteran Starter Reyes Throws No-No For Aguila de Veracruz

 Leif Skodnick  |    Jul 12th, 2023 4:27pm EDT

David Reyes throws the ball during a match between Diablos Rojos and Tigres de Quintana Roo as part of the Liga Mexicana de Beisbol 2019 at Alfredo Harp Helu Stadium on June 9, 2019 in Mexico City, Mexico. (Photo by Jaime Lopez/Jam Media/Getty Images)

By Matthew Tallarini
World Baseball Network

On Tuesday night, David Reyes threw the seventh no-hitter in the history of El Aguila de Veracruz of the Liga Mexicana de Beisbol, beating Saraperos de Saltillo 2-0. 

Reyes walked two batters and struck out seven through all nine innings, getting his record to .500 at 6-6 and dropping his ERA to 4.52. 

Veracruz got on the board in the bottom of the second inning when Jose Aguilar singled to center field, scoring Jesus Valdes for the first run of the game. The Aguila added a second run when first baseman Edwin Espinal ripped a ground rule double to left center field and center fielder Junior Lake came in to score to make it 2-0. 

Reyes capped his historic feat by getting Saraperos first baseman Henry Urrutia to fly out to center field for the final out of the game, and the Aguila de Veracruz celebrated the seventh no-hitter in franchise history around the mound. 

Saraperos relief pitcher Brandon Quintero (1-2) received the loss, throwing 2.1 innings and allowing four hits and two earned runs. Saltillo starting pitcher Ariel Miranda threw five innings, allowing one hit, walking five, and striking out nine. 

Reyes has pitched 77.2 innings in his third season with Veracruz, allowing 80 hits, 11 home runs, 28 walks and striking out 37 in 14 starts. 

In13 seasons playing in Liga Mexicana de Beisbol, Reyes is 122-91 with a 4.42 ERA, and striking out 1,190 batters.  Last season, Reyes went 8-6, recording a 4.56 ERA in 17 starts and throwing 96.2 innings, allowing 90 hits, 16 home runs, 38 walks, and striking out 67. 

The last El Aguila de Veracruz starting pitcher to throw a no hitter was Dylan Unsworth, who did it to beat the Diablos Rojos del México 8-0 on May 28, 2021. 

The last starting pitcher to throw a no-hitter in Liga Mexicana de Beisbol was Yoennis Yera of the Olmecas de Tabasco, beating the Generales de Durango 2-0 on July 6, 2022. 

There have been 108 no-hitters and 11 perfect games thrown in Liga Mexicana de Beisbol since the league started in 1925. The last perfect game was thrown by starting pitcher Pasqual Coco from the Acereros de Monclova, who beat the Tigres de la Angelópolis 6-0 on May 30, 2006. 

Veracruz is in fifth place in Zona del Sur at 34-33. Saraperos is 35-31 and in fifth place in Zona del Norte. 

El Aguila de Veracruz will play their second game of their three-game set against Saraperos de Saltillo at 9:30 p.m. EDT at Estadio Beto Avila in Veracruz, Mexico. 

All Liga Mexicana de Beisbol games are streamed on the Jonron.tv paid streaming service.

author avatar
Leif Skodnick