Schedule For 2024 Intercontinental Series Announced; Six Teams On Docket For Pool Play

By Matthew Tallarini
World Baseball Network

The schedule for the 2024 Intercontinental Series at Estadio Edgar Renteria in Barranquilla, Colombia, has been announced on the event’s website. 

The tournament will take place from Jan. 25 to Feb. 1, 2024. 

Each team will practice on January 25 at Estadio Edgar Renteria. The Intercontinental Series will begin pool play on Jan. 26, finishing on Jan. 30. The semifinals of the tournament will begin on Jan. 31 and the championship game will be played on Feb. 1. 

Estadio Edgar Renteria holds 9,000 seats for baseball and opened on May 1, 2018. It’s home to the Caimanes de Barranquilla in the Liga Profesional de Béisbol Colombia. 

Edinson Renteria, the president of Team Renteria marketing group and the brother of Colombian-born former Major League Baseball shortstop Edgar Renteria, is the head of the 2024 Intercontinental Series organizing committee. 

The 2024 Intercontinental Series will include the champion of the Liga Profesional de Béisbol Colombia. 

The Cuban Professional Baseball Federation, or FEPCUBE, will also participate at the 2024 Intercontinental Series, and will have a roster of players of Cuban-American descent and Cuban-born players who are current professional free agents in Major League Baseball in exile. The FEPCUBE roster will include players in the U.S. minor leagues and players playing in international leagues in the Caribbean and Asia. FEPCUBE announced a preliminary roster on Dec. 29 for the 2024 Intercontinental Series. 

FEPCUBE has no relationship to the Federacion Cubana de Beisbol or the Cuban government.

The FEPCUBE team has Major League Baseball players, including Aroldis Chapman, Yandy Diaz, Jorge Soler, Yulieski Gurriel, Lourdes Gurriel Jr., Aledmys Díaz, and Yennier Cano, on the preliminary roster for the 2024 Intercontinental Series.

Players that elected free agency such as Yulieski Gurriel, Soler, and Chapman could play in this tournament if they do not have a contract with a MLB organization.

Aledmys Diaz, Yandy Diaz, Cano, and Lourdes Gurriel Jr are under contract with MLB organizations. The Intercontinental Series is not part of the Winter League Agreement, unlike the Caribbean Series, which is run by the Confederation de Beisbol Profesional del Caribe. 

The Nihonkai Baseball League in Japan, the Neo Asia League “Field of Dreams” Professional Baseball Organization in Indonesia, the Western League from the United States, which is an independent league will have their roster will be made up of players from their league and the Pecos League based in the Southwest region of the United States participate in the 2024 Intercontinental Series. 

The Curacao Professional Baseball League, which is operated by Federashon Di Beisbol Di Korsou will send a team of players who played during their first year of operation in the 2023 regular season; South Korea will have their independent league from the Gyeonggi-do Baseball Softball Association called the Gyeonggi Province Independent League will participate at the event and Liga Mexicana de Beisbol will bring a selective team to the 2024 Intercontinental Series. 

The Intercontinental Series is a club tournament that began as the Latin American Series, which operated from 2013-19 and featured the winners of the winter leagues in Panama, Argentina, Curacao, Nicaragua, Colombia, and Mexico. 

According to the Intercontinental Series website, Baseball United from the United Emirates, the Australian Baseball League, Serie Nacional from Cuba, Liga de Beisbol Profesional Nacional in Nicaragua, Liga Profesional de Béisbol de Panamá, and the Chinese Professional Baseball League in Taiwan are all potential future participants for the Intercontinental Series.

Tickets are now available for the 2024 Intercontinental Series on website. 

The 2024 Intercontinental Series will be streamed on the event’s website with a paid subscription. 

2024 Intercontinental Series Schedule
All games will take place at Estadio Edgar Renteria 

Friday, Jan. 26, 2024 
9 a.m. EST – Curacao vs. United States  
2 p.m. EST – FEPCUBE vs. Japan  
7 p.m. EST  – South Korea vs. Colombia

Saturday, Jan. 27, 2024 
9 a.m. EST – Japan vs. Curacao
2 p.m. EST  – FEPCUBE vs. South Korea
7 p.m. EST – Colombia vs. United States  

Sunday, Jan. 28, 2024 
9 a.m. EST – South Korea vs. Japan  
2 p.m. EST – United States vs. FEPCUBE  
7 p.m. EST – Curacao vs. Colombia 

Monday, Jan. 29, 2024 
9 a.m. EST – South Korea vs. Curacao 
2 p.m. EST – Japan vs. United States  
7 p.m. EST – Colombia vs. FEPCUBE  

Tuesday, Jan. 30, 2024 
9 a.m. EST – United States vs. South Korea  
2 p.m. EST  – Curacao vs. FEPCUBE
7 p.m. EST – Japan vs. Colombia

Wednesday, Jan. 31, 2024 
2 p.m. EST – Semifinal 1
7 p.m. EST – Semifinal 2

Thursday, Feb. 1, 2024 
7 p.m. EST – Championship Game

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »