About 3 minutes reading time.

WBC: Cuba Announces 30-Man Roster for World Baseball Classic

 Matt Tallarini  |    Jan 26th, 2023 1:48pm EST

Yesterday, the Federacion Cubana de Beisbol announced their 30-man roster for the 2023 World Baseball Classic.  

Cuba manager Armando Johnson has a capable roster of Major Leaguers, high minor league affiliate players, NPB players, players who played in the Cuban Elite League during the winter season and the 2022 Caribbean Cup from the Bahamas in December. The Cuban squad is preparing for the event at Estadio Latinoamericano in Havana, though MLB players will not join the club until March 3.

The Cuban roster for the World Baseball Classic will likely also be the starting point from which Cuba will build a team for the 2023 Central American and Caribbean Games in El Salvador.  

Cuba will play two exhibition games in Taiwan against Chinese Professional Baseball League teams prior to the start of Pool A at Taichung Intercontinental Stadium.  

Cuba will arrive in Taiwan on March 3 for the 2023 World Baseball Classic. 

The island nation’s Serie Nacional will start in April, right after the World Baseball Classic.

Cuba will play their first game of the World Baseball Classic against the Netherlands on March 8 on Fox Sports 1 at 11 p.m. EST.  Host nation Chinese Taipei, Italy and Panama will be the other nations that will start in Pool A to begin the 2023 World Baseball Classic.  

30-Man Roster World Baseball Classic Cuba

Catchers – Team (League)
Andreys Perez – Centrales (Elite League) 
Lorenzo Quintana – Tigres de Licey (LIDOM)  

Infielders – Team (League)  
Ariel Martinez – Hokkaido Nippon-Ham Fighters (NPB) 
Erisbel Arruebarrena – Centrales (Elite League)
Luis Vincente Mateo – Centrales (Elite League) 
Yadil Orestes Mujica – Centrales (Elite League) 
Yurisbel Gracial – Current Free Agent (NPB) 
Dayan García – Tabacaleros (Elite League)  
Yoan Moncada – Chicago White Sox (MLB) 
Andy Ibanez – Detroit Tigers (MLB) 

Outfielders – Team (League)
Alfredo Despaigne – Current Free Agent (NPB)       
Yoenis Cespedes – Aguilas Cibaenas (LIDOM) 
Luis Robert – Chicago White Sox (MLB) 
Yoelquis Guibert – Cafetaleros (Elite League) 
Roel Santos – Naranjeros de Hermosillo (LAMP) 
Yadir Drake – Yaquis de Obregon (LMP)  

Pitchers – Team (League)
Elián Leyva – Naranjeros de Hermosillo (LAMP)
Yoenni Yera – Charros de Jalisco (LAMP)
Liván Moinelo – Fukuoka Softbank Hawks (NPB) 
Carlos J. Viera – Sultanes de Monterrey (LAMP)
Raidel Martínez – Chunichi Dragons (NPB)
Yariel Rodríguez – Chunichi Dragons (NPB) 
Frank Abel Álvarez – Chunichi Dragons (NPB) 
Naikel Cruz – Centrales (Elite League)
Roenis Elías – Aguilas Cibaenas (LIDOM)
Onelki García – Aguilas Cibaenas (LIDOM)
José Ramón Rodríguez Menéndez – Ganaderos (Elite League) 
Yeudis Reyes – Cafetaleros (Elite League) 
Ronald Bolaños – Kansas City Royals (MLB)
Luis M. Romero – Oakland Athletics (MLB)