About 4 minutes reading time.

2023 Caribbean Series: Cuba Announces Roster, Reinforcements

 Matt Tallarini  |    Jan 26th, 2023 6:01pm EST

This morning, the Federacion Cubana de Beisbol confirmed the roster for the Agricultores, who won the Cuban Elite League championship and are headed for the 2023 Caribbean Series.  

Agricultores came back from a 3-1 series deficit to beat Portuarios in the first year of the Elite League Season and Championship Series going the distance in seven games, with Osvaldo Abreu smacking a series-winning single in the rubber game to send Agricultores to the Caribbean Series. Agricultores finished in first place in the Elite League, playing their home games in Granma at Estadio Martires de Barbados. 

Agricultores manager Carlos Marti added five players to the roster for the Caribbean Series. Two outfielders, Denis Laza from Portuarios of the Cuban Elite League and Racio Santos, who played this past winter league season in Liga ARCO Mexicana del Pacifico with Mayos de Navojoa, will give the offense a lift for Agricultores during the Caribbean Series. Laza batted .348 during the whole season with 56 hits in 198 plate appearances, clubbing five home runs and earning 27 RBI. Santos played in 22 games during the winter league season in Mexico with Venados de Mazatlán and Mayos de Navojoa, he had 22 hits in 95 plate appearances and eight RBI. The three pitchers that have been added to Agricultores are Andy Vargas from Portuarios, Jonathan Carbo from Tabacaleros, and Alexander Valiente from Cafetaleros.  

Cuba is returning to the Caribbean Series for the first time since 2019 in Panama City, Panama at Estadio Rod Carew. Cuba’s Serie Nacional Lenadores de Las Tunas appeared in the final of the 2019 Caribbean Series, losing to Panama Probeis team Toros de Herrera. Cuba appeared in the Caribbean Series from 2014 to 2019, and only won one title during that time span, with Vegueros de Pinar del Rio winning in 2015, beating Tomateros de Culiacan in the final in San Juan, Puerto Rico at Hiram Bithorn Stadium.  From 1949 through 1960, Cuba had seven Caribbean Series.

Cuba will open up the Caribbean Series against Curacao on February 2 at 10:30 a.m. EST at Estadio Forum La Guaira. The Caribbean Series in Caracas and La Guaira, Venezuela will span from February 2-10 with a final championship game and third place game during the tournament. 

Cuba’s 2023 Caribbean Series Schedule
Thursday, February 2 – vs. Curacao, 10:30 a.m. at Estadio Forum La Guaira 
Friday, February 3 – vs. Dominican Republic, 2:30 p.m. at Estadio Forum La Guaira 
Saturday, February 4 – vs. Venezuela, 7:30 p.m. at Estadio De La Rinconada 
Sunday, February 5 – vs. Mexico, 2:30 p.m. at Estadio Forum La Guaira
Monday, February 6 – vs. Colombia, 10:30 a.m. at Estadio De La Rinconada
Tuesday, February 7 – vs. Puerto Rico, 1 p.m. at Estadio De La Rinconada 
Wednesday, February 8 – vs. Panama, 10:30 a.m. at Estadio De La Rinconada

Thursday, February 9 
Third Seed vs. Second Seed –  3:30 p.m., Estadio Forum La Guaira
First Seed vs. Fourth Seed – 7:30 p.m., Estadio De La Rinconada

Friday, February 10
Third Place Game – 2:30 p.m., Estadio De La Rinconada
Championship Game – 7:30 p.m., Estadio De La Rinconada

Elite League Agricultores 2023 Caribbean Series Roster  
* – denotes reinforcement ** – denotes Utility Player

Catchers (2) 
Rafael Viñales 
Yosvani Alarcón

Infielders (7) 
Carlos Benítez
Osvaldo Abreu 
Guillermo Avilés
Andrés De La Cruz Matos
Yordany Alarcón Tardío 
Yulián Milán**
Yosvanys Millán

Outfielders (7)
Denis Peña**
Darián Palma 
Alexquemer Sánchez
Dailier Peña
Yunieski Larduet
Raico Santos Almeida*
Denis Laza*

Pitchers (12)
Leandro Martínez 
Kelbis Rodríguez
Yoel Mogena
Yunier Castillo
Carlos Santana
Pablo Civil 
César García
Miguel Paradelo
Ángel Sánchez
Andy Vargas*
Jonathan Carbó*
Alexander Valiente*

Coaching Staff 
Manager: Carlos Manuel Martí Santos 
Bench coach: Leonardo Soto Agüero 
Third base coach: Ramón Esteban Rodríguez Rondón 
First base coach: Abeicy Pantoja Díaz 
Bullpen coach: Rodolfo Correa Lobaina 
Pitching coach: Luis Ernesto González Escalona