Curacao Announces Provisional Roster For Intercontinental Series

By Matthew Tallarini
World Baseball Network

The Federashon Di Beisbol Di Korsou announced their provisional roster on their social media pages on Jan. 10 for the 2024 Intercontinental Series in Barranquilla, Colombia in late January.  

Curacao’s Willemstad Cannons will be the island’s representative at the 2024 Intercontinental Series at Estadio Edgar Renteria from Jan. 25 to Feb. 1, 2024.

The Willemstad Cannons lost to the Curacao Suns in the first-year of the Curacao Professional Baseball league in the championship game 6-5 in the bottom of the seventh inning off a game-winning double by Suns pinch hitter Shakir Albert. 

The Curacao Professional Baseball league played seven inning games during its first season of operation. 

The Curacao Suns will represent the island as their club team from the 2023 Curacao Professional Baseball League at the 2024 Caribbean Series in Miami at loanDepot Park from February 1-9. Curacao will participate in the Caribbean Series for the second consecutive year.

Yordano Carmona of Pelota Cubana USA spoke with officials from the Federashon Di Beisbol Di Korsou on Jan. 3 to confirm on how the rosters from both the Intercontinental Series and Caribbean Series were being selected. Certain players from Curacao will be on two rosters for both the 2024 Caribbean Series and the 2024 Intercontinental Series. 

Each team will practice on January 25 at Estadio Edgar Renteria. The Intercontinental Series will begin pool play on Jan. 26, finishing on Jan. 30. The semifinals of the tournament will begin on Jan. 31 and the championship game will be played on Feb. 1. 

The first game of the 2024 Intercontinental Series for Curacao will be against the United States on January 26 at 9 a.m. EST at Estadio Edgar Renteria. 

Estadio Edgar Renteria holds 9,000 seats for baseball and opened on May 1, 2018. It’s home to the Caimanes de Barranquilla in the Liga Profesional de Béisbol Colombia. 

The Intercontinental Series is a club tournament that began as the Latin American Series, which operated from 2013-19 and featured the winners of the winter leagues in Panama, Argentina, Curacao, Nicaragua, Colombia, and Mexico.

The Curacao Baseball League withdrew from the 2019 Latin American Series due to financial issues.

The Curaçao National Championship AA League was the highest-level league in the country, but will now be a level below the Curacao Professional Baseball League. The A League and Rookie League for Curacao will also be a farm system for players on the island. 

In 2023, the Curacao Professional Baseball league just ran one week from Dec. 3-10 during its first year of operation.

The Curacao Professional Baseball league will operate as a full-season league next year, rather than a one-week showcase.  

Current major league free agent infielder Jonathan Schoop and former Major Leaguer Wladimir Balentien are on the 2024 Intercontinental Series provisional roster for Curacao. 

No coaching staff has been announced by the Federashon Di Beisbol Di Korsou for the ICS. 

The Curacao 2024 Intercontinental Series roster was built with players that have played in the lower levels of the minor leagues with MLB organizations, professional free agents, players that have played in the 2023 Curacao Professional Baseball league season, and other international professional leagues. 

The 2024 Intercontinental Series will be streamed at for a fee. 

Curacao – Willemstad Cannons 2024 Intercontinental Series Schedule
All games will take place at Estadio Edgar Renteria 

Friday, Jan. 26, 2024
9 a.m. EST – Curacao vs. United States  

Saturday, Jan. 27, 2024
9 a.m. EST – Japan vs. Curacao

Sunday, Jan. 28, 2024  
7 p.m. EST – Curacao vs. Colombia 

Monday, Jan. 29, 2024
9 a.m. EST – South Korea vs. Curacao 

Tuesday, Jan. 30, 2024
2 p.m. EST  – Curacao vs. FEPCUBE

Wednesday, Jan. 31, 2024
2 p.m. EST – Semifinal 1 – 3rd place vs. 2nd place
7 p.m. EST – Semifinal 2 – 4th place vs. 1st place 

Thursday, Feb. 1, 2024
7 p.m. EST – Championship Game 

Curacao – Willemstad Cannons Provisional 2024 Intercontinental Series Roster 

Temesh Lourens
Jordan Lucas
Denverick Martinus 
Cerilio Soleana 
Siamani Boekhoudt 
Marlison Brunken 
Elchero Fransisca 
Nigel Calmes 
Hershelon Juliana 
Ruderly Manuel 
Angelo Palumbo 
Javier Fandino 
Jesus Fandino 
Victor Vargas 
Fernando Baez 
Tiago da Silva 
Alexander Rodriguez 
Arlison Rodriguez 
Eduar Lopez 
Nestor Molina 
Edgar Garcia 
Alvin Herrera 
Carlos Quevedo 
Francisco Carrillo 
Jesus Paricaguan

Gabriel Lino 
Stephan Vidal 
Ortwin Pieternella
Ulrich Snijders 

Dwayne Kemp 
Dudley Leonora 
Jonathan Schoop 
Riordan Windster 
Gedionne Marlin 
Diego Velasquez 
Engelb Vielma 
Swindly Lint 
Alex Madera 

Delano Selassa 
Erickson Leonora 
Jonathan Martijn 
Edmond Americaan 
Jackey Josepha 
Ademar Rifaela 
Raysheandell Michel 
Shakir Albert
Roderick Bernadina
Wladimir Balentien 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »